Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens..

I am happy to be back. Back to where i belong. To my lab, to my work, to the other group of friends. Happy to see everybody welcome me back with open arms. Yes, this is where i belong.
Things are so different from my last arrival.. yes, what was there with me all the time, what helped me survive when i was too new to feel at home, too skeptical to make new friends, too unaccustomed to the new work to be occupied by that, and totally lonely, that is not there with me any more.
But then i didnt come to an unfamiliar environment this time. I came home. Back to my lab, my dept, my neighborhood, where ppl know me, where i have friends. And i have my own independent life.

Perceptions. I feel i’ve come full circle. Again it seems that its all abt perceptions. Things around u remain the same, but how they affect u depends on how u perceive them. There has been one little addition to my fav theory though.. I used to think that there was a contradiction in this theory – if perception was so imp, as i always thought it was, then why was I ever sad/unhappy/upset? Why couldnt i make myself feel good all the time?
What i’ve realized now is that even though how something affects u still depends on ur perception, it doesnt necessarily mean that u can consciously alter it. There r so many factors which determine our psychological state.. one of the most imp factor being the hormones. I dont know abt guys, but for females, i’ve come to understand, it can be the most imp factor in determining how u react to something. So imp that it feels scary.. why is our ability to see things in the proper light influenced so much by these few molecules floating around in our systems, which we have no control upon? There must’ve been some reason to select this weird phenomenon over the course of evolution, i just somehow cant see what it might’ve been..

So apart from all other goodies, all i need to get that spring back in my step is the right concoction of hormones sitting merrily on their little receptors.. šŸ™‚

5 Comments

  1. Anonymous said,

    October 16, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    I agree about the hormones thing. right now I am in the absolute doldrums. Worst part is you never know it is the hormones until it is over. gettit? šŸ™‚

    -Rapunzel(in keeping with this blogs theme!)

  2. Anonymous said,

    October 16, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    oh and btw, chocolate helps.

    -Rapunzel.

  3. Princess Fiona said,

    October 17, 2007 at 12:00 pm

    @Rapunzel
    Welcome! šŸ™‚
    es, i agree.. u never know its the hormones until its over.. And then suddenly things seem so different!
    Its just ridiculus.
    Thanks for the chocolate tip.

  4. add said,

    December 7, 2007 at 1:06 am

    Princess Fiona!! šŸ™‚
    just read your post! very nice!!
    we should use it to train the entire male species about the effects of hormones on behavior of women
    šŸ˜€

  5. Princess Fiona said,

    December 10, 2007 at 7:05 am

    @ add
    Thanks! yeah.. if only we could make them understand!! šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

